Now § Then § Profile § Contact § Mothership § Guestbook

you can never escape momma! you'll always be her slave!

Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2003 - 6:57 p.m.

today is my roommate's birthday. i love it. i long for this day every year. you see, she's a year older than me and i always tease her b/c i know it annoys her. well, from sept. 6 till nov. 18, i can't say a word, not one little word b/c we're the same age during that time period. now, though, she's the big 28, so i can pick and tease and be myself, yet again.

i am about to face a big challenge. i'm having my annual thanksgiving meal this sunday. the only thing is, it's very last minute. i'm so used to everything being done at least two weeks before that i feel like i'm rushing not only myself, but others. it's crazy. i haven't even told my roommate, how crazy is that? she won't do anything anyway, so it really won't matter. i've got to tell my neighbors b/c we always have so much food, i need people to take it home w/ them. and my greedy neighbors certainly will. i've got to spread the word...and only i really know how to do this. why? b/c i've got mad networking skillz!

i talked to my mom on the way to work this morning. we were talking about thanksgiving b/c we're going to virginia. well, she starts telling me about us having dinner at my sister's place, then heading up to fairfax to see my aunt. that totally shocked the hell out of me. i made her repeat it. you see, earlier this year, after my grandfather died, there was major drama with my family. i asked my mom if we all were going to virginia and she said yes. then i asked her specifically, 'and daddy, too?' she laughed and said. i even asked her if my sister knew that my dad was coming and if my dad had agreed to it. (my mom has a tendency to not tell things until the last minute or until she gets her way) she assured me everyone was a willing party in this. i was shocked and blown away. in fact, my reaction was to get super perky (we all know i am the last person anyone wants to be around in the morning b/c i am a horrible mean bitch who cares about no one's feelings until after 10:00a.m.)laugh. i told my mom i would be sure to bring my camera with me. this will be a very interesting thanksgiving. the very first one that has not been spent at home. go figure. i'm ready for it.

but now, i have to go and get ready for this sunday....MY thanksgivign dinner. i've got to make sure everyone has been called by tomorrow and find out what everyone is making so i can have the menu prepared by friday so everyone will know what to bring. it's a lot of work, but that's why i'm taking monday off. am i up for the challenge? you better believe it, baby. no on can pull off a party/gathering like i can...no one. and that, my dears, is something i'm 100% confident in. well, it's off to work for me. plan, plan, plan....and eat.

oh yeah, i forgot to mention i got my pampered chef stuff yesterday. i was so psyched. i got the deluxe cheese grater and the food chopper. i'm so ready to use it but i have no idea what for....well, i did use the cheese grater last night. absolutely perfect. grates course and fine...i love it. tonight i have to use the chopper. maybe i'll make potatoes w/ onions or something...i just want to chop. and if i do not see that i have a need for it, like my apple corer, i'll just give it to my mom...well, that's what she told me to do.

one more thing...my mom called me this afternoon and informs me that i need to make 5 sweet potato pies. this has gotten out of hand. every time i talk to her, the number of pies i have to make goes up. first it was 2, then she changes it to 4, then she tells me 5! i told her i'm not talking to her anymore until thanksgiving b/c i ain't a factory and i that's a lot of pies to make. i'm telling you, the main reason women have kids is so they can have little slaves to push around. oh, they say it's love...but i think it's a power trip. you see, they take care of you and all that good stuff when you're a kid, but as you get older, little by little, they start you doing their dirty work. it's cute then and you willingly do it b/c it pleases her. then you kinda put two and two together, but it's too late. you've already gotten hooked into it. and now, since you've done one thing, momma adds more and more things to it. and you can't say anything. why? b/c it's momma and you can't talk back, dammit! then you become an adult and leave home. now momma can't boss you around anymore b/c you're on your own...you live in your own place...THAT'S WHERE YOU'RE WRONG!!!! the key word here is GUILT! oh my god, moms can give you a guilt trip faster than anyone else in the world. so you never really escape b/c, even though you're an adult adn you live your own life, momma still has that grip on you and you'll do any and everything she says....and so goes the story of my life. but you know what? i wouldn't change it for the world. my mom's the bomb and i guess i can make her these 5 pies....i mean, really, do i have a choice? exactly!


music in my head: possibly maybe-bjork

what i'm doing now:
that was thenthis is nowrings & thingsleave me a note311 pictures

need more? ♠
happy kwanzaa
good holiday cheer filled w/ love for family
i finally got the car!
let's get in the christmast spirit!
goodbye to the old and on w/ the new...my precious microwave