Now § Then § Profile § Contact § Mothership § Guestbook

damn arthritis

Tuesday, Sept. 16, 2003 - 6:11 p.m.

i haven't really written in here, but then again, there's not much to write about. i am still a week behind on my general hospital watching. yeah, i know, i'm a slacker. but people, it's not easy watching. i don't like sitting and feeling as though i HAVE to watch something. so i just record it and get to it when i can. that seems to be the best way to do it.

i was just checking and 311 is going on their fall tour soon. i can't wait. i'll have to tell everyone. i just looked on their tour page. in november they will be back in nc and i will be there. they haven't booked a show at the ritz yet, but i'm hoping they will. they are going to be in winiston salem, but raleigh just has more memories for me. and i always see my peeps there. i'll keep you all posted.

i went shopping this weekend. i bought some jogging pants and a pair of jeans. why, oh why, did my jeans cost more? i still can't get over that and today is tuesday. my jeans, $39.50. my jogging pants-$44.50. yeah, so the jogging pants feel really good, but damn! it boggles my mind.

i saw this band at nyp this weekend. they were called the murray street band. they have got to be one of the best bands i've seen around here in a long time. i'm serious. they were so good. it was like portishead meets the blues. you just felt like you were in a groove. not too loud, not too rocky, not too hip hop...just good mellow music. i got their cd, which was free, and fell in love. needless to say, i'm making copies for my friends so they can hear the goodness of them. and i got on their e-mail list. when i find out where they are playing next, i am there.

i was supposed to go home this weekend, but my mother so nicely tried to tell me not too. i was like, alright. i do miss my family, however, it is my parent's 34th wedding anniversary, so i'll stay here. it's a miracle they've been together this long. at one time, i just wanted them to be apart b/c they argued so much. it's amazing how things can change over time. that was back when i was in single digits. god, i love my family.

want a blast from the past? i was leaving to go to work this morning and out of my neighbor's apartment walks....DANNY! yeah, you heard me right. i chatted w/ him briefly till we got to the sidewalk. he knows i am not a morning person, so i didn't have to act nice or even attempt to talk. facial expressions on my part were enough. then we saw the big bad garbage turning into my apartment complex. let me tell you something about me. i'm not scared of many things, but big trucks scare me. more specifically, garbage trucks scare me. they remind me of monsters. i hate them and i run from them if they get anywhere near me. but this morning, i had nowhere to run and the truck kept coming my way. i was about to open my mouth and just scream, when danny said 'oh yeah, you're scared of those trucks,' so he takes me by the hand and pulls me in a grassy area the truck couldn't get to. did i see that area while i was being traumatized by the truck? nope, but i thanked danny for 'saving me'...i guess that's what you'd call it. then he told me to step closer to him, and i did. he gave me a kiss on my check, it was really sweet....but i think he just wanted to smell me. i have no idea why all these guys like to smell me. i know they talk about how good i smell, but gosh, it's not all that. i never go around just smelling myself and i don't see why others like to so much.

well, i guess everyone around this area is getting ready for the big hurricane. i bet some idot has a hurricane party, i just know they will. someone always does. i'd go to one if it didn't affect me going to work the next day...no, let me stop. i'd be stuck in my apartment w/ candles and things of the like. my mom said she's worried. they may have to seek shelter elsewhere. i hope not. hurricane isabel.....i hope she's nothing like hurricane fran. that left me and myn family w/o electricity for almost 2 weeks. i'll never forget that one. that's when i started wearing contacts, too. right around my birthday in 1996. i'll keep you posted on all the craziness that goes on in this area. i will get batteries and candles tomorrow, though. you can never be too safe, you know.

well, i'm hungry and i gotta eat something soon. maybe i'll bite the bullet and actually cook something. hell, who knows, maybe i'll actually watch general hospital so i can erase it off my dvr. that thing has a mind of it's own and if i want to see it before it goes crazy, i better make time for it.

one final thing. i was talking to my mom today at work and she was catching me up on all the things going on at home. we're having a super wal-mart opening tomorrow. i can't believe it...little ol hillsboring. and they have another bigger food lion. now, i know this means nothing to anyone else, but to me, that's a lot. i'm really from a small town. i haven't been home in a while and now i find out they're growing into a little metropolis. goodness. while i was learning all this, my allergies decided to attack me again. they've been hell. i had the worst coughing fit i've ever had...of course, i was still on the phone w/ my mom, so she's like 'what the hell is wrong w/ you? i told you to go get a physical!' she's crazy. she doesn't even remember i got my physical in april, like i do EVERY SINGLE YEAR. she won't accept that my allergies are acting up. it means nothing to her that when i finally get my zyrtec, i'm a new person. anyway, so my coughing fit finally is coming to an end and my eyes are watering and my head is pounding...then i realized that i was coughing so hard that my contact just popped right out of my eye. that has never happened to me before. kinda freaky, i know.

one last thing...i guess i'll complain about my knee. see, i had a car accident the summer of 1996 and i was in the hospital for 2 weeks, then rehab for 2 weeks learning to walk again. i have a rod and two pins in my right leg and surgery was just done on my right leg. well, they had to take my knee cap out b/c it was really...well, cut up. there was no repairing it. so getting on my knees sometimes is kinda uncomfortable. that's background info. well, yesterday, i thought i was going to be cute and wear some 3 inch platforms. they were really cute and i wore them to the mall on saturday....but yesterday, i stood up for over an hour in them...not walking, just standing. i had no idea my knee was going to be in so much pain. i couldn't bend it b/c it hurt so bad. good thing i wear sneakers to work. as soon as i got home, i grabbed for my trustly icy hot! i love that stuff. i think i massaged it on my knee twice last night. when i went to bed, i bit the bullet and put a thermal pack on my knee...of course, i warmed it in the microwave. my knee felt much better when i woke up, but i had to put it on there again before i left for work. i'm telling you, peeps, you get a year older and your body falls apart. now i have to worry about my arthritis acting up again. oh me, oh my.

RIP JOHNNY CASH, JOHN RITTER


music in my head: don't panic- coldplay

what i'm doing now: waiting for the icy hot
that was thenthis is nowrings & thingsleave me a note311 pictures

need more? ♠
happy kwanzaa
good holiday cheer filled w/ love for family
i finally got the car!
let's get in the christmast spirit!
goodbye to the old and on w/ the new...my precious microwave