Now § Then § Profile § Contact § Mothership § Guestbook

i cannot believe they outshopped me!!!

Saturday, Nov. 30, 2002 - 12:37 a.m.

well, today is supposed to be the biggest shopping day of the year. i have never contributed to masses on this day ever before. did i this year? of course, i did. my mom and aunt wanted to go shopping. i watched ab fab earlier today, so when i heard 'SHOPPING', my body went into automatic mode. it knew exactly what to do b/c my mind left me.

let me just say if i ever had any doubt that i am my mother's child, that all changed today. now i know where i get my shopping addiction from. my mom and aunt were like crazy women, i do not understand it. mind you, we didn't go out until later on. my mother refuses to 'be out w/ all those crazy people.' she and my aunt wore me out all the same. i told her i never wanted to hear her complaining about me shopping ever again. this is me, whose favorite word is 'SALE'(especially when it's preceeded by 'shoe.') just to show you how bad they were, they bought their stuff, and when i was checking out, they found more stuff to buy, so they went back and got more stuff. i was like, damn! i don't even do that. but my aunt made me help her pick out stuff. my mother just rolled her eyes. at least someone realizes i have taste. then we left and went to hell, yep, wal-mart. it was packed in there, even at that time. let me tell you, that's when they wore me down. i couldn't take it anymore and i am a shopaholic. i just broke down in the middle of the store and said i was checking out and going back to the car. my aunt laughed and my mom called me old. there were people there laughing at me b/c i was like 'i am 26 years old and shopping is a sport i am good at, but y'all have bested me at it. i can't believe it.' by the time i was checking out, my mom came up behind me. cool, they were leaving...not! she SUDDENLY forgot to get something. whatever. i left them in the store. i know they stayed in there another 15 minutes, at least. i still cannot believe it. and they said tomorrow they were hitting up the shoe stores, WHAT!! now, i love shoes, that is my weakness, but damn, i have never seen my mother shop this much before in my life. i think it's my aunt rubbing off on her. everytime my aunt from florida comes up here, my mom and all her sisters lose it! yes, i was actually the sane one tonight...and the old one.

but i must admit, i did feed into the who shopping thing. i already admitted i am a shopaholic, so it's alright. i bought this awesome jacket that's really cute, some more jogging pants to work out in (it will happen) and a new purse. i am sure she will be happy to hear about the new purse. i see her shake her head at my purse on sunday morning before church. i always get a kick out of it. but yes, this was the first stop that i had to make purchases. the next stop is where i kinda got a little silly w/ my purchases, but i am glad i made them. i got a measuring cup (don't laugh, i guesstamate when i cook), panty hose and...A CROCK POT!!! yep, i finally got one. i've always wanted one. it was actually a toss up b/t that and the george foreman grill. the thing that made me buy the crock pot instead is i will probably use it more. i hardly ever cook meat or anything that i could cook in there. most of my stuff would best be cooked in a crock pot. that and the fact that i just want to make some type of cheese sauce or something. maybe i'll ask for the grill for christmas. anyway, those were my only purchases. it took me awhile to find those awesome deals, but i did it. and, yes people, i spent less than $100.00 today, can you believe it? usually, when i go shopping for anything, 2 items gets me close to the $100.00 mark, so i did really well.

now, i am tired as hell, but it's alright. i keep forgetting it's only friday...well saturday now. i'll be going back home later today. i can't wait. then i will put up my christmas tree and some of the decorations. yes, i will even go ahead and put up my kwanzaa kinara. i'll have to ask my mom can i do that now or is it too early. i can't wait to celebrate kwanzaa.

oh yeah, ms. woman got me thinking and i really need to go ahead and buy christmas presents. she's already got her christmas stuff bought, packed and under the tree. now THAT is what i call ready for the holidays. but yes, i need to go ahead and do presents. the first thing i am getting is going to be my parents present. i am thinking something electronic. my dad gets no cologne. he'll kill us all with it. he likes to bathe in it, i think. i cannot do scents for my mom b/c she is so choicy. we can agree on nothing and the only scent i know she likes is vanilla and i am tired of that. i used to get her white diamonds, but that burns my nose and it always makes it bleed, so i stopped buying it. i was thinking of getting them both a joint present, but i am not sure how that will flow. i was thinking a dvd player or a home entertainment center...who knows. i'm not good at stuff like that. it's already been established w/ my friends that we do christmas after christmas b/c family always ends up being more expensive and more demanding. i'm sure you all will agree w/ me there. there's also the competition thing there if you have siblings. don't try and front and act like it doesn't happen b/c you're lying. i KNOW i try to out do my brother and sister every year and i always end up w/ crap in return, but it's all good.

well, i need to pack my clothes to go back home for tomorrow. i could do that tomorrow, but then i won't have a place to sleep b/c my clothes have covered my bed.

on that note, i'll be out...and know that it is not okay to put up your christmas decorations. the thanksgiving holiday is officially over, no matter how much thanksgiving food you still have in the fridge. i just can't wait to get back home and eat. i've been craving nyp pizza since i got here. alright, peace out!


music in my head: happy trails

what i'm doing now: wishing i were watching 'home for the holidays' w/ robert downey jr.
that was thenthis is nowrings & thingsleave me a note311 pictures

need more? ♠
happy kwanzaa
good holiday cheer filled w/ love for family
i finally got the car!
let's get in the christmast spirit!
goodbye to the old and on w/ the new...my precious microwave