Now § Then § Profile § Contact § Mothership § Guestbook

i'm damn good

Tuesday, Sept. 17, 2002 - 11:16 a.m.

kamilah is in town. i am glad. we had an awesome time on sunday, after our drink of red bull and vodka. then we hit up the red wine, not too bad. then maher came over and we had a little fun there. tonight, he's supposed to be coming over so kamilah can corn row his hair. i cannot wait for this. it's just too funny.

i made salmon croquettes for dinner last night. they were wonderful. i have no idea what got me in the mood to start making that, but i am glad i did. the night before i made quiche, which i was excellent and i did it from memory, too. kamilah thought it was wonderful too, obviously, b/c she ate it all. i haven't had anyone do that since she left. nor have i had anyone to drink cheap beer with, and i am sure we'll be doing a lot of that tonight.

anyway, i was saying i made salmon croquettes last night....ricky and i had an argument about that last wednesday night. i bought mackerel and ricky made a face and said no. i was like what? that's what my mom told me to buy, besides, it was sitting right beside the pink salmon. he said it didn't taste right and that i should get the pink salmon. well, folks, if you've ever had my parent's cooking, you know that whatever they fix is great. needless to say, i said i was not buying his pink salmon and bought my mackerel, which i made last night. it was awesome, as i knew it would be. i was telling kamilah about it and she said 'that's what my grandma and mom use.' it was a can of jack mackerel. that really made me think. kamilah's parents and grandparents are from california...i'm from the south and so is ricky, but kamilah and i were brought up on the same thing. it must be a white/black thing. ricky brought up a good point, too. food is a really crazy thing as far as white and black folks go. gravy, potato salad are perfect examples. black people eat brown gravy and yellow potato salad. white people eat white gravy and white potato salad. of course, this is not always true, which i have found. it's just wierd the way we think things are when we're kids are so not the way things are when we grow up.

how did i get off on that tanget? i have no idea. i had better get to a stopping point in my work b/c kamilah will be here any minute. yummy, then i can eat my salmon croquettes and mac & cheese.

i think ricky just made a challenge against me. he thinks he can beat me in a quiche making contest...or is it just in a cooking contest. there are some things i just won't cook b/c i don't eat them...but if i can eat it, i'll cook it. hell, i made a big fat roast this weekend and gave most of it to my parents b/c it was too much for me. it was really big. my dad has never eaten my food. i feel pretty damn good b/c my dad said, 'this is pretty good.' let me tell you people, if i can get my DADDY to say my food was good and he eat it all, then i KNOW i am damn good.


music in my head:

what i'm doing now:
that was thenthis is nowrings & thingsleave me a note311 pictures

need more? ♠
happy kwanzaa
good holiday cheer filled w/ love for family
i finally got the car!
let's get in the christmast spirit!
goodbye to the old and on w/ the new...my precious microwave