Now § Then § Profile § Contact § Mothership § Guestbook

311 4-life

Monday, Mar. 18, 2002 - 8:22 a.m.

oh my god! the concert was off the hook. people, i am telling, that is the best concert i have EVER been to in my life. hoobastank was a great opener. they rocked. we saw them before the show b/c we got there early. they had gone to wendy's and the excursion dropped them off at the side door. we were parked b/t the side door and the back door. no one really recognized them b/c most people were waiting for 311. actually, my roommate spotted the guy with the blonde hair. i do not know their names yet, but i will. and guess whose cd i am getting this week? you guessed it. hoobastank.

well, there was so much that happened. we got to raleigh around 4:10p.m., went across the street to mcdonalds, then came back and sat in the parking lot for about 30 minutes. then we stood at the steps until it was time to get in line. i stood up for a total of 7 hours straight that night. it was awesome, though. we saw some girl in the parking lot tripping on 'shrooms and drinking beer, then she flipped out and started screaming and crying. it wasn't pretty. we finally got in the ritz and tried to get to the front. well, it wasn't happening, which was fine then b/c you know how the crowd moves due to the mosh pit, so i knew we could get closer. there was one guy who was behind us and started talking to us. not a problem. we asked each other where we lived and both of us lived in g'boro. i was like, oh shit! i found out he worked at the pet store that i get my fish stuff from. i was like, whoa, us 311 people are everywhere. i love it. then another thing happened that i have never seen happen before at ANY concert. it started ON TIME!! go figure. hoobastank rocked, i am so serious and the lead singer is HOT. he took his shirt off and it got 20 degrees hotter in there.

it was really hot in the ritz. we were all talking about it. the show sold out, so the place was packed. then it happened...what i had been dreading for weeks. THE MOSH PIT! and where does it always start? near me. i have no idea why. they started crowed surfing before the show even started, but i wanted to scream for the to wait until after i moved to mosh. it just so happened that me and cheryl knew exactly where to stand, or rather who to stand behind, to always stay right on the outskirts of the pit. we did so well. people were throwing water on us the whole time, which was good b/c it was so hot. when 311 came on, we had made it up to the 3rd row from the front! we did so well. and the mosh pit was behind us. we only had to watch out for unsuspecting people being thrown on us. and we found something else out. if you help people get up on the crowd to crowd surf, they help you out when the pit comes your way. loved it.

now, s.a. had on his shazaam t-shirt, which i noticed instantly. he is the bomb. tim was too funny. we was making faces at us b/c we saw him go on the tour bus before the show to get some nookie and the guys beside us were shouting to him. p-nut wasn't having a good night b/c his base wasn't working like he wanted it to. let me tell you, i have never heard them do 'use of time' before, and they did it and i lost it. the song that took my heart was 'amber.' whey they played it, i started crying. damn, i wish i had snuck my camera in. i will try to set the stage for you. imagine, the entire stage is black except for one amber colored spotlight that is shining directly on tim while he plays the opening bars of amber. can you picture it? no, better yet, you can you feel it? i was screaming and crying. it's funny, i thought my favorite song on that album was 'champagne', but remember when i first listened to that album, 'amber' did it for me. now i know why. tim mahoney is a guitar god!

they played 'lucky' and 'dancehall' from ETSD2, which i have never heard before. the entire set was just awesome. i thought it was cute they had the 'special leaves' floating around behind them on the psyche. that made me laugh. no happy slam dance this time, but they did play 'down', 'all mixed up', 'come original', 'freak out', 'wake your mind up' and 'from chaos'. i do love 'from chaos'. that is a damn good song.

how about one of the roadies was this black guy who was catching people as they crown surfed to the front. well, as cheryl and i got up to the front, he kept looking at me. he got a bottle of water later and started pouring it on girls in the audience. cheryl got some, then i put my hands up for some. (it was that hot in there) he pour some in my hands, then i put my hands back up, he pours the rest of the bottle, which is half the bottle, in my mouth and down my shirt. he drenched me and it....and i loved it.

after the show, cheryl and i went back to the car to freshen up and cool down. we got separated from each other, so i just went to the car. on the way, i saw the black roadie. he was looking at me with 'the look' and licking his lips. okay, yeah, i flirted with him. it was fun. i figure it helped that i had on a wet tank top, thanks to him. we talked for a few minutes and asked him had he seen my friend. he said no, but kept staring at me. finally, i saw cheryl and we giggled about that. then we go back to the buses to wait for the band.

while we are waiting, someone comes up behind me and puts their arm around me and grabs cheryls hand and tries to put something in it. cheryl gets freaked and he says, just open it! it was one o p-nut's picks. he gave me one too, then smacks me on my ass and smiles. that was too funny. i did get to meet nick again, but that was it. p-nut was on one side of the crowd and nick was on the other and i wasn't passing up my chance to take another picture with him. yes, i did take a picture with mr. sexum hexum and will be posting them as soon as i get them deveolped. never fear liz and tovah, the pics are coming.

i also met some really cool people standing out by the buses. love 311 fans. i met a guy who came from nova scotia just for this concert. this other guy was talking about how 311 fans band together no matter what. we have a cetain unity about us and we all agreed on that. just from my diaryland peeps i can tell that. then i turned around and this chick starts screaming, 'oh my god! i remember you from two years ago!!' it scared me at first, then i noticed she was pointing at my 311 tattoo. i looked at her, then she pulls her hair and was like, oh my god, you were the girl with the pig tails! we hugged and talked for a while. it was so cool. after it was all said and done, i took pictures of everyone, we hugged and said we would see each other the next go around, which i am sure we will.

it was a fabulous concert. it will play over and over again in my mind. i wish i could have brought everyone i know with me to experience what i did. i got into a new band, met new people, rekindled old friendships just had an awesome time. now i am looking toward the future. that would be...the incubus concert in raleigh this june. anyone wanna go???? i will be there.

the main phrase that was used and i have adopted it as my own.....311 4-life. oh my god, i forgot to mention that this time, nick actually crown surfed. too cool.


music in my head:

what i'm doing now:
that was thenthis is nowrings & thingsleave me a note311 pictures

need more? ♠
happy kwanzaa
good holiday cheer filled w/ love for family
i finally got the car!
let's get in the christmast spirit!
goodbye to the old and on w/ the new...my precious microwave