Now § Then § Profile § Contact § Mothership § Guestbook

ever been slapped blind?

2001-10-28 - 12:02 a.m.

okay, so i am dead dog tired now. i have just been in the kitchen making 4, yes count them, 4 sweet potato pies. i feel like martha stewart now. i even washed another load of laundry and cleaned up the kitchen. am i at my apartment? of course i'm not. i wouldn't have to clean up the kitchen then. (keep in mind my definition of cleaning the kitchen is washing dishes) i would just stick everything in the dishwasher. so, if i am so tired, what am i still doing up? well, i have to put my clothes in the dryer and wait for these damn pies to cook. if only my mom had come home earlier tonight then this wouldn't be happening to me. i know, tonight is daylight savings time, so i get my extra hour of sleep that i lost earlier this spring, but my god, i have to have something to complain about. i mean, i wouldn't be me if i didn't.

so, i washed my hair this morning before i went out. i let it dry as much as possible. and, of course, when i come to my parent's to wash my hair, the one thing that hasn't happened before happens. one of my braids falls out. it was in the very back at the bottom, but the point of the matter was it fell out. and you know i wouldn't have any hair with me. like i carry it around with me at all times. i was a girl scout, but that is taking it to another level, you know.

my brother keeps picking on me and my cousin, the 18 year old who goes to college in the same town as me. he points to her and says 'before' then points to me and says 'after.' i don't know if i am being complimented or insulted. that boy makes me sick, so i don't pay any attention to him anyway.

my feet are freezing now. i don't have on my fuzzy footies to go with my fuzzy pajamas. what a pity. no, not really. i am just too lazy to bend down and put them on. are those damn pies done now? probably not. i just hope i don't burn them.

okay, so the child just pulled his own tooth out... A MOLAR! i cannot believe this. some of it broke off in this gum, but it doesn't bother him. strange child, i tell you. the boy talks a mile a minute. i now know how my parents feel when i talk somtimes. you have to just look like you are listening for nothing better to do. i love my little nephew, but sometimes.......okay, the kid is not getting on my nerves and i am about to kick him out of this room. when i am typing in this diary, i like quiet, or at least no one demanding my attention. you would think the little bugger would be asleep now. aunti might have to stop writing in the diary and break bad.

well, i guess i am going to play around on diaryland some and wait for my clothes to dry and my pies to cook. until later....

but before i leave, i must talk about the child getting his hair cornrowwed today. okay, so my little nephew has been growing his hair out and wants cornrows, like most young black boys nowadays. anyway, i wake up to this kid's voice. i was confused at first, then i realized i was not in my apartment, but at my parent's. i get up, wash my face, but my contacts on and go watch my mom. let me tell you, this kid cried like someone was killing him. i felt no sympathy for him. when my mom cornrows your hair, it is going to be tight and it's not coming out for a while. well, the child didn't think the pain was going to accompany the look he wanted. oh, but it did. he squirmed and wiggled adn fussed and did everything in his power to make the pain go away. i ketp telling my mom she should just smack him like she used to do us. she just kept telling him to be still. she had the audacity to say she never hit us when she did our hair. i stepped back because i knew lightening wasn't far away from striking. well, the kid kept fussing adn squirming and i knew it was coming and he slid down off the pillow one too many times because the next thing i heard was a big ol' -POP-. she had smacked him without a warning, but, again, i felt no sympathy for him because he knew it was coming. i even told him it was coming, but did he listen to me? no. then he kept running that smart mouth of his and he got popped again. i thought it was kinda funny myself. then i told the kid he has finally joined the club with us. he has no idea what i was talking about. i told him we had to go through this, but it was much more painful and took much longer to do. then i tried to explain to him that there was no such thing as tenderheadedness when mama does your hair. he kept insisting that he was. then my brother was saying he wasn't tenderheaded because of all the chemicals he has put in his head. i explained to him that didn't mean a thing. i know from personal experience, i used to be perm queen, but i would let a perm burn in my head for 5 minutes than to have to sit while my mom braided my hair again. that is what you really call pain. i felt the kid's pain, but i didn't sympathize with him. why? because he asked, no, begged for it, i was forced to sit there and take it. the funniest part fo the entire thing was halfway through his head, he insist that he just wants my mom to stop and he would rather get a haircut. my mom said, no, you asked for it and now you are going to get it and your tail will sit still while i do this. it was so funny. oh, the funniest part of EVERYTHING was the comment she made after he had a really smart assed comment to say to her. this kid LOVES to talk back. we never did this, mind you. my mom told him to put his jacket and shoes on and clean up his mess in the livingroom. she told him 4 times and she was still walking around on his hands and doing back flips. my mom lost it. yelled at him then he said something about he spitting on his glasses. why did that child do that? i have always said, when you see her eyes start glowing, watch your step, but he is 10 so he has to test her. my mom said the funniest thing i have ever heard. she said, 'boy, i will smack your little bony tail blind and we will see how much you need those glasses then.' i had to walk in the bathroom so i wouldn't laugh in his face. my mother has always given threats like that to us and that scares us so she never goes through with the. she was one of those mothers that said 'i brought you in this world and if you keep on, i will be the one that takes you out.' she is the true black mama....and i love it. somehow growing up, she managed to put the fear of God in us and i never needed a spanking....never got one.

well, the kid is asleep, thank god. now i can search diaryland and play around.


music in my head:

what i'm doing now:
that was thenthis is nowrings & thingsleave me a note311 pictures

need more? ♠
happy kwanzaa
good holiday cheer filled w/ love for family
i finally got the car!
let's get in the christmast spirit!
goodbye to the old and on w/ the new...my precious microwave