Now § Then § Profile § Contact § Mothership § Guestbook

zucchini, family reunions and wu-tang

Thursday, May. 30, 2002 - 11:15 a.m.

this lady made some cake and brought it in today. now, it looked good, but i know looks can be deceiving so i gave this lady the benefit of the doubt. then i tasted it. it tasted okay, a little strange, but okay. then i asked her what it was. she told me and i wished i hadn't asked. zucchini cake. now, i do love me some zucchini, yes, i do, but i don't make it a habit of turning my vegetables into dessert. don't get me wrong, the cake is fine, reminds me a lot of carrot cake, but i am not one who needs to turn my veggies into something else to be able to eat them. back in the day, i hated carrots, but loved carrot cake. that's how i got into carrots, and we know how i will eat the hell out of some carrots. i do not have that problem with zucchini. i LOVE zucchini. have loved it since back when i was in single digits in girl scouts when we roasted them in foil in the camp fire. therefore i do not need a sweet version on zucchini to be able to eat it. in fact, if anything, i think i am totally turned off from all sweet things for the rest of the day, if not until saturday (family reunion).

i am excited about my family reunion. i was contemplating either going home tomorrow night or saturday morning. it's just me and kamilah. we'll have fun regardless. i was thinking we hang in g'boro for however long, then as the night winds down, we head on to the country and spend the night there. that way i can do my laundry when i get home and if i don't finish, i can do it saturday morning before we leave to set up for the reunion. it's gonna be a big thing and i love it. food as far as the eye can see, i tell you. kamilah will lose her mind. i don't think she has ever been to a big family gathering like mine. in fact, other than jezzie, i don't think any of my friends have ever been to a family reunion. the rest of my friends couldn't hang. it would be too much for them. back to the subject, i think we shall leave friday night b/c if we leave saturday morning, we'll have to leave really early and that ain't something i really want to do.

let's see, ever since dee brought my wu-tang and outkast cd's back, all i have been able to listen to is 'the w'. i am telling you, i think that is their best cd. iron flag...i just didn't get into it like that, you know. 'the w' has a new feel, but also still chimes in with their old stuff. i love it. it's not too hard, not too poppy....it's just right. my favorite one on there is 'redbull' b/c it features redman and i love him. i think he is hot and he can rap his ass off. 'gimmee your fucking money', that's my favorite line in the song. most everyone knows 'gravel pit', that's off the hook, but 'jah world'....that one just touches you, you know. it's really deep. can't wait to get home and dip into that again. if only i could get my friends to get into them, and not just the songs that go mainstream.

well, i suppose i should get back to work. herschel's return is quicly approaching and the end of the month is tomorrow, so i better act like a slave master and whip it!


music in my head: jah world-wu-tang

what i'm doing now: eating zucchini cake...yeah, really
that was thenthis is nowrings & thingsleave me a note311 pictures

need more? ♠
happy kwanzaa
good holiday cheer filled w/ love for family
i finally got the car!
let's get in the christmast spirit!
goodbye to the old and on w/ the new...my precious microwave