Now § Then § Profile § Contact § Mothership § Guestbook

the child

2001-11-24 - 3:20 p.m.

you know, i started writing an entry in here last night, but the stupid computer logged off on me. i was very upset about it, to say the least. the entry was about my little nephew, how sweet he is and how much i love him and all this. i still love him, mind you, but the sweetness is gone! he is trying to write a paper for D.A.R.E, but he doesn't want to proof read his own work...and how he just got a spanking from his grandmother. all that mumbling under his breath and talking back will get him nothing but a sore behind. it's as though he will never learn. i told him i would type the paper for him, but he wanted me to, pretty much, do it for him. i am not down with that. back in the day, i might have. but now, heck no! when i was that age, and even older, i did my own work and other people's work. now i feel as if i had to do it, they can do. i will help them with thought process, because i know sometimes you need a little help jogging your memory, but other than that, heck no! now he is pouting because i won't help him. everyone knows by now that pouting doesn't phase me the least little bit. i could care less. i felt sympathy for the kid yesterday...now i feel nothing for him...except the urge to beat his tail for trying to be a little smart mouth....but i did nothing except come and type. i am not mad, i don't hit him when i am mad, that ain't the way to go. you can hurt a child that way. but i am all about the discipling a child. i was brought up very well and so were my parents and i feel as if any child in my care will be brought up the same way.

so, i didn't tell how we went bowling yesterday with church sunday school. it was fun. my aunt got on my case because i didn't bowl, as she always does, no big deal. then she told me when we got bowling again, the family, i have to bowl, no exception. i got out of it yesterday by grabbing the first baby i saw. my cousin joyce's. his name is moses and is he so cute. i drank the hell out of my drink, i will tell you that. he gave the BEST baby hug i have ever gotten. he even snuggled down in my neck. too cute...made me want one....until he started whining. then i gave him to his dad, but i had him for a good hour. anyway, after bowling, we went to eat pizza, everyone and they gave a trophey to the persons with the highest score: one for the adult and one for the child. my aunt jean got the one for adults and...paylor got the one for the children. that's my boy. i don't care what sport it is, that boy can excel in it. if only he would put forth the same effort with school work!

i was supposed to be spending the weekend with jezzie, but the child was gonna have a fit, so says mama long. she tells me that paylor feels unwanted and we need to do everything in our power to let him know that is not so. i understand what she is talking about. his parents are divorced and his mom is more concerned about her boyfriend that she is him. he spends most of his time at my parent's house and he thinks of this as home. he loves coming to stay with me in g'boro, but he always wants to come back home, and i don't mean with his mom. knowing all this, i kinda understand how my mom wants to make everything so easy for him and sugar coat everything, kinda what she does for my brother, but the world is not going to do that. besides, this boy needs discipline and as long as he is around me, he will get it. he knows that and that's why when he messes up, the RUNS to grandma, because i don't play. but i love him.

my brother and i got into a big argument this morning. something stupid. my family, sans my dad, likes to pick on me. i have my way of doing things and that's how it is and i do not like to change them. my mom says this is due to the fact that my dad babys me when i come home...whatever. anyway, my mom got mad a me this morning because i refused to cook the bacon on the new griddle my dad bought. i offered to cook it in the oven, but not on that thing. she made me get out of the kichen then. my brother and her decided to talk about me while i was in the living room with paylor. then she told us to get our plates b/c breakfast was ready. my brother wanted to be big bad and not move out of the way then yell at me i bumped into him. he was like, i am not scared of you. (of course he ain't, he is bigger than me.) this is all due to the fact that he is trying to bully someone. not me. he doesn't scare me because i will cut him down with words, as i always have done. so he wants to do battle with me! (i sound like busta rhymes.) he kept yelling at me the in the kitchen when i was with my mom. my mom does nothing, now. she will only say something if i initiate it. anyway, long story short, he said something to ignite my fuse and i said, 'look boy, shut up and talk to me when you can get a job and support yourself.' that ended that fight....and my mom dropped my waffle in the floor at the same time. nothing was ever said about that again. my brother has avoided me all morning and he just left. now he knows not to mess with me. we haven't had a blow out since i came home from college one time. now he knows i haven't changed. by the way, i am the only one of my siblings that works. my sister's boyfriend takes care of her and my brother lives at home. yes, he does go to school and he is only 20, but still, he could keep a job if he wasn't such a bully. as my mom says, he can huff and puff all he wants, but he knows i will knock his tail down.

did i mention that my daddy bought me a waffle iron yesterday? that just brightened my day. i was so happy, i couldn't contain myself.

well, now i have to go. hopefully, i will get to go shopping and i have to type this child's D.A.R.E. paper. he decided to proof read it, finally.


music in my head:

what i'm doing now:
that was thenthis is nowrings & thingsleave me a note311 pictures

need more? ♠
happy kwanzaa
good holiday cheer filled w/ love for family
i finally got the car!
let's get in the christmast spirit!
goodbye to the old and on w/ the new...my precious microwave