Now § Then § Profile § Contact § Mothership § Guestbook

we are Longs

2001-10-01 - 11:56 a.m.

well, i am at my parent's house right now. in a few hours we will be at the church for the funeral. i feel fine right now, but my mom just left to go to the store to get some viva paper towels. i know i will need them. my sister is letting my little nephew go to the funeral. she wasn't going to, at first, but i guess he kinda talked her into it somehow. the kid kept talking about how aunt hassie bell used to always have on red lipstick and her hair was red. that is one thing we will always remember about aunt hassie bell was her red hair. you just had to love it. she was a diva in her own right. it seems as though almost every day we keep finding out more tragic news. i called my dad last night to talk and he was telling me about another person who is dead. one of the ladies that works with my mom, a distant relative, her niece has been missing since setember 5. well, down the street from my parent's, walking distance, they found the lady. evidently, she had a car accident and ran into a tree, the tree toppled over and covered up her van. they just found the body yesterday and called the cops. it was one of our neighbors. they noticed that a strange car was in the woods on his property, so he got his neighbor to go with him to see about it, and they found her. she had been there since september 5. i don't even like to think about such things. then, on the way home, my mom told me to look at the funeral board to see who the new person on there was and, of course, it would be someone that is related to us....again. the guy who lives down the street from us, his son. i used to go to school with his sister, ann, and we had the best of times. my grandmother used to love it when she came over to see her. yep, it seems that so many people are leaving this world. i have never been one to deal with death very well, but it seems as though i am being forced to deal with it now. i try to block it out, and when you are with people and have things to do, it is so easy......it's just those time when you are left alone to deal with your own thoughts. i don't even want to think about when that day will come when i have to deal with my grandfather leaving me......

i went shopping with my friend kamilah this weekend. it was so much fun. i never thought of myself doing this, but we left saturday afternoon to go shopping and we left the mall 15 minutes before it closed. that was so crazy. it was so much fun. i needed it. you never really think about it, but shopping releases so much stress. then we went to dinner at chilis adn had an awesome time. we went back to her place after that and finished watching this black independent movie that i absolutely loved...me who does not like movies. it was called 'hav plenty.' i would recommend that movie to any everybody. after the movie, we came back to my place, she finished my hair and that was that.

my roommate locked her keys in her car at the bank yesterday. i had to call the locksmith to meet her there. i had to find one first. this is something that happens on a regular basis. getting her keys locked in the car, running out of gas, getting a flat tire...the list goes on. each thing happens on more than one occassion and you know what? i always have to call someone. this time, i let into my girl. it old her there is no reason why she doesn't have a spare key. i hope i made her feel bad because then she will realize the importance of getting one made. yeah, we just got paid so $40.00 doesn't seem all that bad, but when you compare spending $40.00 to get someone to unlock your car to $2.00 it takes to get an extra key made (probably not even that much), it makes a lot of difference. crazy girl.

well, i suppose i should do something to occupy my time. i guess we are leaving the house in about an hour or less, so i need to get ready. well, let's hope i make it through the next few hours with my sanity intact. i don't even know why i put on make up, it's only going to come off. today is the farwell service of aunt hassie bell. it's going to be a very emotional service because all the family will be there and when i say all, i mean all. but, alas, we are a family and we always stick together through thick and thin. we are always there for each other and, just like all the other times, will continue to be there for each other. as my mama told me today, we are Longs.


music in my head:

what i'm doing now:
that was thenthis is nowrings & thingsleave me a note311 pictures

need more? ♠
happy kwanzaa
good holiday cheer filled w/ love for family
i finally got the car!
let's get in the christmast spirit!
goodbye to the old and on w/ the new...my precious microwave