Now § Then § Profile § Contact § Mothership § Guestbook

good holiday cheer filled w/ love for family

Saturday, Dec. 27, 2003 - 1:03 p.m.

my goodness, the year is almost over, i can't believe it. i'm very happy it is, too. this year hasn't been too kind for me. i have lost a lot of loved ones this year and things just didn't work out in my favor, but there is always a bright side and it's coming...it really is.

i went home for christmas, like that's a big surprise. anyway, i had a really good time. i think the thing that really made it super was the fact that my dad was talking and laughing and having fun. he was even joking w/ me this weekend. yeah, i was shocked. it was truly a time for family in every sense. when i came home christmas eve, we had the dinner at my parent's house and so much of our family was there. my dad loved that so much. he just kept talking and talking and talking. it was hard b/c this was the very first year my grandfather wasn't there...but he was there in spirit. christmas day we went to my cousin penny's house and had fun. and yesterday we were at my cousin helen's house. i know i say this every year, but i love my family so much and i KNOW i have the best family in the whole wide world. i wouldn't trade them for ANYTHING!

now that i'm all filled up emotionally, i think it's time to say where i went yesterday. as i said, i was at my cousin helen's house. now i asked my dad wednesday what function was going on and he told me. let me start off by saying, yes, i am black, but no, not the steretypical black person. you'll understand it better when i tell you about the function. i had to ask my daddy to explain. i went to a chitterling strut, yeah, you heard me right. i got yelled at so many times yesterday b/c i 'had my nose turned up.' those things are so gross, yuck, yuck, yuck. but my family was throwing down. i can't even think about it. but i will say my dad's witty remark was cute. i asked him what a chitterling strut was and he said 'everybody comes and brings chitterlings. you ain't got to strut.' everyone laughed at me, but i didn't care. they were the ones going to eat that nasty stuff.

on a side note, my brother and i were having a discussion about chitterlings and other food that i considered gross (they tell me i'm too choicy.) so we got on the subject of chicken and giblets b/c my mom was making chicken dumplings. my brother has a friend who eats all the chicken and his philosophy is...'it's all chicken except the bill, put salt on it and it's chicken still.' we all know my reaction to that comment...'VOMIT!'

my little nephew was here for christmas. he's so cute and yet so grown. i still can't believe he is 12 years old! i still remember bringing this little baby to school w/ me and changing his diapers. yes, i still remember him arguing w/ me b/c he was calling me mommma and my sister by her name. how time flies. he is such a smart child and considerate. a lot of people over look that. he tries so hard to please his family and make them proud of him. no one ever really notices that, though. when me and him have our talks, it all comes out. no one ever really pays attention to how hurt he is. i got him a two-way radio for christmas...you know, those walkie-talkies. he loved it, of course, b/c he asked for it. it's funny b/c when my mom is on her cordless phone, everything she is saying comes in on one channel. in trying to figure out how that worked, my dad pulled out his scanner, so everyone was in the living room on christmas day fiddling w/ electronics. very amusing.

well, this entry was so family ortiented and happy, i don't want to taint it by telling what happened before i even left greensboro to go home...so i'll have to add another entry. yeah, it was pretty...um....i'll do another entry.


music in my head: christmas songs-various

what i'm doing now:
that was thenthis is nowrings & thingsleave me a note311 pictures

need more? ♠
happy kwanzaa
good holiday cheer filled w/ love for family
i finally got the car!
let's get in the christmast spirit!
goodbye to the old and on w/ the new...my precious microwave