Now § Then § Profile § Contact § Mothership § Guestbook

the secret is out.....i know who super man REALLY is!!!

Saturday, Nov. 16, 2002 - 7:31 p.m.

i love my daddy, i love my daddy, i love my daddy. did y'all know i love my daddy? yeah, he's the best. i swear, this man is psychic or something. he knows what i want before i even vocalize it...either that or he remembers what i say. he actually listens to me, unlike my mom. i will give her some credit, she does relay messages, but he's the one that usually pulls through on what i want. so i guess you could say they are a good team. i am sure you want to know why i am loving my daddy so much now. well, i got what i wanted. FOOD! i don't ask for much, but when i do, i get it. usually, around this time every year, i start craving some of my daddy's soup. now, not everyone can make soup. you have all your different kinds of soup and yeah, some are good...but none can compare to paul jr.'s soup. good lord, it makes you want to smack your grandma and pass the grits. there is no recipe and no instructions, just dump some stuff in there. it's sweet, yet it's hot, but it's got the right amount of salt and it's the right amount of meat and veggies.....i'm just gonna have to get some more in a few just for y'all. hehe. when i came in the house this morning, i smelled something that perked me up (we all know i am not a morning person, especially on the weekend.) then i went i the kitchen and saw this HUGE pot on the stove. this is the biggest pot of soup i have EVER seen in my life. i am taking so much back home w/ me and i am eating here like nobody's business. my family has never been able to understand my eating habits. when i want something and i cook it, i just want it for then. but if i want something my dad or aunts cook, oh god, i'll eat on it until it's gone. fried chicken, soups, apples, greens, cabbage...you name it. hey, i'm a country girl. so all i am gonna eat for the next week is soup. people will laugh, but i don't care, cause you know what else? i ain't sharing one drop of juice w/ NOBODY! i ain't trying to be mean, but i mean what i say. that's just how it is when it comes to me and my daddy's food. well, if my dad tells me i have to share it w/ cheryl, i guess i will have to....but if i eat it all before i get a chance to see her, well, i can't help that, now can i?

tomorrow, oh, tomorrow. more goodness is in store. wanna know why? my daddy is cooking me some stewed apples. yummy, yum, yum. NOBODY can cook apples like my daddy. not even my aunt roberta or my aunt phyllis and they learned from the best cook ever, my grandma lottie, god rest her soul. i have been cheesing from ear to ear and my dad just keeps laughing at me. he had me be the official soup taster this afternoon when he was doctoring on it. i went back to get some more while he was folding clothes and he goes, 'you are gonna get sick from eating all that soup.' and laughed. i just looked at him and got more. we'll see how long i eat soup before i get sick. today is day one.

i know i have managed to get back to the soup again, but you just don't know it's goodness. let me tell you the ingrediants. even if you know what's in it, you still can't work the magic my daddy does with it. tomatoes, corn, lima beans, green peas, string beans, onions, chicken, pork, potatoes, sugar, salt, black pepper, red pepper...i think that is it. and do you know how long that soup has been cooking??? HE STARTED IT LAST NIGHT! yes, that's exactly how they used to cook back in the day. cook it slow and let the flavor get through it all, continuously stiring it. hell, my dad was up at 5:00a.m. stirring that soup.

i'll go ahead and let out the secret. y'all though superman was only a comic...but he's for real and he's my daddy. yep, this man is the best. he cooks, he cleans, he does laundry, he a great husband, and awesome father, he fixes cars, mows the grass, sews, washes cars, cuts wood, pays every bill except for the phone bill and EVERYONE in my town knows my daddy. he's the bomb. children love him. old people love him. i love him.

i am going to get a copy of one of my childhood pictures and put it on here. it's...cute, i guess. that's what everyone says. but here' the reason i love it. it's obvious i was crying when i see the picture. our family was at the photography studio and me and my sister were getting our pictures done, me in my blue dress and her and her pink dress. (i have no idea why they dressed us backwards that day. i was the one whose nickname was pinky. repeat it and die.) i was about 2 or 3 and my sister was 6 years older than me, so do the math. anyway, as i said, i was crying b/c i didn't want to do it. my sister was sitting behind me w/ her arms around my waist. the photographer was doing all he could do to make me stop crying, but it only worsened the more he did. then, all of a sudden, they hear me stop crying. they look to see why...my daddy had heard me crying and came in the door. i saw him and i immediately stopped crying and started smiling. the whole time my mom was there, which is why i didn't break out in a temper tantrum, but my daddy made the tears go away and put the smile on my face. i think i was a cute kid, but this picture is the most adorable, if i do say so myself. you can see the little tears on my eye lashes, but there smile reaches my eyes and i was cheesing for days.

yep, it's official, i am a daddy's girl, and i love it. i am the only child that had never has a spanking. my brother and sister needed them! i didn't. you wanna see this chick turn mean, say one negative thing about my daddy. all sanity leaves my head...all hell breaks loose. i don't think, only act and those who know me will tell you it ain't pretty.

well, i think it's about time for some more soup. i've been writing in the diary and editing for hours. i need a break. besides, i have to rest up for next week. cheryl's birthday is on monday and i got her tickets to go see the SAVES THE DAY/ASH concert in winston. until later, much love, peeps.


music in my head: universe-alien ant farm

what i'm doing now: stretching my phalanges
that was thenthis is nowrings & thingsleave me a note311 pictures

need more? ♠
happy kwanzaa
good holiday cheer filled w/ love for family
i finally got the car!
let's get in the christmast spirit!
goodbye to the old and on w/ the new...my precious microwave