Now § Then § Profile § Contact § Mothership § Guestbook

black folk don't know how to leave a party, and yeah, i'm black

Monday, Jun. 24, 2002 - 12:26 p.m.

this weekend was so...busy/exciting/surprising/etc. i don't know how i made it through, but i did. and now, i need some serious sleep. let me tell you as much as i can in the little time that i have left.

friday i came home and cleaned a little bit more. well, chip came over to my place too, but mostly i just cleaned and bitched about stuff. not too bad. later on, after chip left, i went to college hill w/ dee. we sat on the patio, our favorite place, and just talked and talked. now mind you, chip and i went to nyp for dinner and you can't sit there after work at nyp and not get a beer...or two...or three. so when i went to college hill that night, i was already a bit tipsy. that 16oz glass of bud ice kinda sent me over the edge and then dee wanted me to drink another one...i tried, but it didn't get down. i know, i only live a few yards away from the bar, but still i had to make it to the parking lot and up my stairs. (i really learned to hate my stairs this weekend)

saturday i had to get up at an ungodly hour...9:30a.m. we all know i do not get up until the p.m. on saturdays. it was a big day. i had to do laundry so i could have clothes to wear for the big day. i get my final load of clothes out just as jody comes over to my apartment. he is all dressed and ready for the wedding. whose wedding? well, my boy jason. he wore his cream pants and his $200.00 purple donna karen tie. i still don't know why anyone in their right mind would pay $200.00 for a damn tie. but he's a silly gay boy, so what can i say. anyway, he made me wear purple to match his tie. what a queen. we leave to go to the wedding, which was quite easy to find. it was in g'boro. i will say it was a nice wedding. jody and i were seated on the bride's side, but i saw jason's sister-n-law and moved over beside her. his entire family was so surprised to see us. i love them all and so does jody. haven't seen them in years. i didn't even think some of them would recognize us. and jason's neices and nephew called us by name...well, not the youngest. she was maybe 2 when i last saw her. she doesn't remember me or jody. all i can say now is she is a 7 year old bitch. at the reception i let her play w/ my hair b/c she got attatched to me. she didn't like jody, let's just put it like that. it wasn't pretty and jody wanted to beat her up. the thing is, i think the little 7 year old would have taken jody out. we chatted w/ jason for a bit. this is what i think is kinda wrong. jody noticed it as well. i gave jason a hug, mind you, i was the only girl that did that, but still, i have that right. jody hugged him too. some girl sees me hugging jason and pulls his bride over to us and snatches his arm and says 'don't forget about your bride. y'all shouldn't be a apart.' i wanted to smack her, but i didn't. i did give her an evil look. tamara, the bride, knows me and i hugged her as well and she told me they would be calling me. people think they know so much about me and jason's past. they have no idea. it was funny b/c jason's family was looking on the entire time. whatever, is all i have to say to that.

after the wedding, we went to mexico, jody and i, to eat dinner and have a few magaritas. then we went and got the rest of the stuff for the party. i was so slack. okay, i will admit, jody and i were a little high, so we didn't get back to my place until 9:30p.m. mind you, i was not ready, people were already at my place and i had not finsihed cleaning up....but i felt really good. we got everything together, but it was a while before i actually got dressed...like after the party had started. the party was a hit. people were coming from everywhere. there was alcohol flowing freely and everyone was responsible...that's what i like. no one had to be taken care of either. my cousin tony came and he brought a heard of people from durham. my sister's friend ty came and she brought one of her friends w/ her. i don't think i have ever had so many black folk at my party before. craziness. and never again either. do you know how hard it is to get black folk to go home when there is still alcohol there? around 3:00a.m. i could barely stand up. let me just say around midnight or so, i realized i had taken my final picture and needed to get more film upstairs. i also had to pee. i looked at the stairs and said damn, why do i live upstairs? i ain't going up them, i just ain't. and i didn't for a long, long time. i barely made it to the bathroom and the camera never got more film. i think it's still sitting on the table in the living room. well, around 3:00a.m., i staggered to my room and passed out on the bed. my cousin tony and one of his friends left...but they didn't take their friends w/ them. also, ty was still there. kamilah and darnell had left, but they were coming back. i didn't care. cheryl was left to take control. she did...kinda. she kept asking me what to do with them. every time i replied, 'get rid of them.' poor cheryl, it took her about an hour to get rid of them. she's really quiet and was scared to tell them anything. it was funny, though, when she told me about it the next day. i woke up around 6:00a.m. with the windows open, music still blaring and i was on my bed fully clothed w/ my face by the trash can. not pretty.

well, cheryl woke me up sunday about 1:15p.m. she wanted to make sure i was okay and to tell me they air conditioner had flooded her closet. damnnit, i had forgotten i had the windows open while the air was on. i turned it off b/c someone said the compressor had frozen or something and it would be okay after it thawed out, but i don't think so. it's still leaking in the closet. so now i have a hot ass apartment and it's supposed to 90 something this week. you know i called my landlord last night and left a message on his voice mail. i want my air on when i get home today. it's too damn hot.

last night we went to see a play, 'the mystery of irma vep.' if anyone has an opportunity to see that play, do it. it's absolutley fabulous. one of the neat things about it is that there are only two actors but 6 characters. they worked their ass off.

well, that was my weekend. and if you think this entry is long, just know that was the short version of what happened. i am still recovering as i type no, monday...afternoon. i need to take a long nap. either today or tomorrow. i can handle the wait. kamilah wants me to go w/ her to the opening night thingy for the play on tuesday. lots of cool/important people and free alcohol. i really don't want to go and i don't think i will. i am getting too old for all this running around. my gosh, i'll be 26 soon.

i would also like to point out that i have gotten addicted to arabic music. well, one lady in particular. i listen to her all the time. my friend maher made two different cd's for me. he'll be moving back to n.c. any day now so we'll get a chance to hang out more. he'll be proud that i am into that music. the lady whose voice i am in love w/....ulm kalthum. i am not sure if that's how you spell her first name. it's classic arabic music. she been dead for a while, but she had the most beautiful voice. you should check her out. it's so awesome.


music in my head: some arabic music

what i'm doing now: wondering why my voicemail light is on
that was thenthis is nowrings & thingsleave me a note311 pictures

need more? ♠
happy kwanzaa
good holiday cheer filled w/ love for family
i finally got the car!
let's get in the christmast spirit!
goodbye to the old and on w/ the new...my precious microwave